Naomi Teagles

Parenting Support Coach and Qualified Infant Massage Teacher

For as long as I can remember I have worked with children, taking a keen interest in disability, child development and psychology from my teenage years onwards.

Since gaining the highly regarded NNEB (Diploma in Nursery Nursing) qualification in 2001, I have worked closely with children and families in their own homes as a nanny and, from 2008-2016, in a family support role in SureStart Children’s Centres. Having my own young family encouraged me to seek a healthier work/life balance so that I could be present for my children, and so, in November 2016, Gentle Touch Parenting was born. I continue to run my business alongside a part-time role working for under 5s charity, Home-Start South Leicestershire, now that my own children are both settled into school life.

My ethos is one of nurturing relationships, supporting parents to develop a parenting style which suits their unique personal circumstances, morals  and lifestyle, whilst embracing their children’s developmental needs. My passion is to enable parents to feel capable and confident in their parenting ability, so that they feel able to support their children to emotionally regulate, fulfill their learning potential and develop into confident adults. Whilst my passion and the main body of my experience and specialism lies with babies and under 5s, my work is not limited to this age range, and my principles can be applied to families with primary aged children.

I use techniques such as Positive Touch, Therapeutic Play, Heuristic Play and Solution Focussed Approach to help families work towards their personal goals and look forward to spending time together. My practice is based on up to date research and scientific facts relating to brain development and attachment, subjects which continue to fascinate me and support, not only my professional development, but my parenting approach towards my two young children.

Outside of work I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, being outdoors, reading books that make me feel happy and playing netball (admittedly at a slightly slower and creakier pace than days of old!).